Open archives: Resources and tools
Growing numbers of institutions are setting up their own repositories to archive and disseminate their researchers’ scientific output. This guide explains what is an open archive, what it is used for and how it can be improved.
Multidisciplinary resources and tools
- Héloïse – Publishers’ archiving policiesHéloïse is an information service dedicated to the policies of publishers as regards the depositing of articles. It only relates to documents deposited on researcher’s own websites and those of scientific establishments.
- ROARMAP (Registry of Open Access Repository Material Archiving Policies)ROARMAP lists the institutional archiving policies of research institutions and funding bodies.
- SHERPA / RoMEOThis website provides information on the publishing policy of certain publishers. In particular, it provides lists of scholarly publishers that either accept or prohibit self-archiving by authors.
- SHERPA / JULIET - Research funders' open access policiesThe JULIET list specifies the policy of research funding agencies as regards open access publishing and self-archiving by researchers.
- Versions of Eprints - user Requirements Study and Investigation Of the Need for StandardsThis guide addresses issues and uncertainties regarding the versions of scholarly documents in open archives.
Open archives devoted to the Social Sciences and Humanities
- ArchiveSICOpen archive dedicated to Information and Communication sciences, HAL - hal.archives-ouvertes.fr
Multidisciplinary open archives
- HAL - Hyper Articles en LigneHAL is a multidisciplinary open archive dedicated to the archiving and dissemination of theses and research-level scholarly articles that may or may not have been published. The documents are produced by French and foreign higher education institutions and research organisations as well as by public or private laboratories.